When the Shoe Does Not Fit | Learning to Walk Away and Accept Life’s Giant L’s

I have always had a weakness for shoes; ankle length boots to be specific. I like how I look in them; they are simply the best thing that has happened to feet (in my opinion at least).

The first pair of boots I got was in my teens, I cannot remember how old I was exactly but I remember how I felt when I saw them. They were going at K100, which was a lot of money at the time. Mum would give my brother and I money to buy whatever we wanted every month and I spent that month’s allowance on ankle boots.

The shoes were a size smaller and therefore mighty uncomfortable, but my foot got into the shoe just fine. The salesperson convinced me the shoe would fit better as time went by, I was gullible and liked the shoes too much to think, so I paid for them and went home excited. Sunday came and I was happy to wear my new shoes, but because they were a bit sore I walked with a limp (plus I was not very good at walking in heels at the time). Fast forward to a year later, I gave the shoes away to someone they actually fit better.

Lessons from the story…

  1. JUST BECAUSE YOU LIKE SOMETHING IT DOES NOT MEAN IT IS THE RIGHT FIT FOR YOU.

When you walk into a shoe store, all the shoes look amazing but not all of them will fit you the right way, likewise, not every person you like will be the right fit or even feel the same about you and that’s okay. Just like in a shoe store, some shoes will fit perfectly and some will not, you do not have to force your size 8 foot into a size 6, you move on and find a shoe that fits you.

2. REJECTION IS NOT THE END

In the same way that you have the right to say no, others also do. The world does not owe you a bunch of yeses, sometimes you will win and other times you have to take that L. Things not going your way is not a sign that you are a failure, sometimes it will work out and sometimes it will not. Rejection is not the end; don’t allow a single NO to break you.

Your value does not decrease based on someone’s inability to see it

3. IT’S OKAY TO SAY NO

The job of a salesperson is to market their products and talk people into buying them, and they do this at whatever cost. They are capable of selling ice to an eskimo, marketing their products is what they do best. You cannot let people talk you into doing things you do not want, it is okay to say no if you see that something is not in your best interest. Learn to know the difference between the things that are good for you and those that are not.

3. THERE IS ALWAYS A SECOND CHANCE
If you are weak enough to give in to something, there is always an opportunity to correct things. In the case of getting something in the wrong size, you can always give it away. Getting something a size bigger is different because there is an option of growing into it (something those of us who grew up in Africa can relate to). You have the opportunity to change your mind after realizing you had a lapse in judgement.

What is the use of a mind if it cannot change?

Frances 🌹

Leave a comment