The Meaning of Love | A Valentine’s Day Poem.

Love showed me to myself

He looked into my eyes and whispered I was enough,

Serenading with sweet nothings and sweeping me off my feet.

Love was kind to me, he listened and told me he would do anything for me.

He was never obsessive or insistent on his own way, we always agreed to disagree.

Love loved me, not because I had the fanciest dresses or the “baddest” weave;

But because love is neither shallow nor superficial.

Love is not convenient, and it won’t leave you empty,

He shares the little he has, even when there is only a morsel left.

Love never ran away when I let myself go, we put in the work and got through the hurdle,

Supporting and never criticising, but with love correcting when I err.

Love let go when love had nothing more to offer, delighting not in her pain but walking away because for her; he wanted what was best.

But love never forgot her face, remembered every line, every scar, every feature,

Every expression engraved in his memory.

Love loved what she meant to him, theirs was a union that was out of this world.

She loved him just as much as she knew he did, and in unison their hearts would beat,

A love like theirs was one of a kind,

Unicorns, you have a better chance to find.

Frances🌹

3 thoughts on “The Meaning of Love | A Valentine’s Day Poem.

Leave a comment